Ghost Peach Press

The 2022 Ghost Peach Press Prize

This contest for a first or second full-length poetry collection is open to any poet writing in English who has not yet published more than one full-length book in poetry (poets with multiple chapbooks ​are ​eligible), and offers a cash prize of $1,000 and publication, as well as ten copies of the published book. This contest is now open and will close May 1, 2022 has been extended through May 15, 2022.

The brilliant Eduardo C. Corral will judge the contest.

Eduardo C. Corral is the son of Mexican immigrants. He’s the author of Guillotine, published by Graywolf Press, and Slow Lightning, which won the 2011 Yale Series of Younger Poets Competition. He’s the recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University. He teaches in the MFA program at North Carolina State University.

Entries will first be read blind by GPP and Birdcoat’s panel of editors, and 2022 judge Eduardo C. Corral will choose the winning collection from ten finalists. All manuscripts should include a title page, table of contents, and an acknowledgements page (if applicable). No identifying information should be included in the submission. Manuscripts should be paginated and formatted in a pleasant-to-read font (as in, not comic sans), with no more than one poem per page. Manuscripts should consist of 48 – 75 pages of poetry (not including front and back matter). We prefer that you are ethical and do not submit if you are related to/work with/are besties with or otherwise have personal connections to the judge which could cause your work to be recognized.

Ghost Peach Press accepts the $22 entry fee exclusively through our Submittable page. The entry fee is due at the time of submission. This contest runs from January 1st, 2022 – May 1st, 2022. The winner will be announced by November 2022 and publication is expected in the fall of 2023.

Past winners include: Laura Page, Dove and Coyote (available here), Mirande Bissell, Stalin at the Opera (available here), and Gion Davis, Too Much (forthcoming 2022).

The 2021 Ghost Peach Press Prize in Poetry

Gion Davis, Too Much

This manuscript was selected by Chen Chen, who called it “an uncompromising wonder” and “giddily alive.”

2021 Finalists:

Michael Cryer

James D’Agostino

Darren Higgins

Brent House

Leah Claire Kaminski

Hila Ratzabi

Ashley Roach-Freiman

Theadora Siranian